Take screen clippings using OneNote

Office 365 / SharePoint Blog

OneNote has a quick shortcut to allow you to take screen clippings from your screen. It works similarly to the snippet tool that comes with windows, and it gives you an option to clip directly to the current page, or you can save your clipping to the clipboard and paste it in your favorite program.

In Windows 7, you can use the WINDOWS key plus the letter S to generate the screen clipping tool.

In Windows 10, the WINDOWS key plus S pulls up Cortana, the Windows search tool: Windows’ version of Siri, so in Windows 10 you need to use the SHIFT key, the WINDOWS key and the letter S to activate the screen clipping tool in OneNote.

Thankfully, this combination also works in Windows 7, so you don’t need to worry about remembering the difference.

I used to use the print-screen function that comes with Windows but that tended to generate a full screen shot of my two monitors, and then I have to go through the process of cropping the image, so I now prefer to use WINDOWS + S to take care of my screen clipping needs, and I love how OneNote just places those screen clippings directly into the current page.

If I later want to save out that image to my desktop, I can right-click on the image and choose SAVE AS… to do so.

Such a simple tool, but so incredibly versatile, I suspect the screen clipping tool will become a much-used function in your arsenal.

1 thought on “Take screen clippings using OneNote”

  1. As a “newish” OneNote user you gave me some AWESOME TIPS! I kept stopping while reading the article to go and play in OneNote and practice making sub pages and such and I love it!

    Also like how you organize blog posts in OneNote. I have recently started a blog and begun writing and posting articles on Medium.com and I think OneNote will be the best way for me to organize and manage those posts and articles as well.

    Thanks!

    Like

Leave a Reply

