Windows 10 – Where are the Start Menu shortcuts?

Oh… I want to share a quick peeve with you! Oh my gosh, this annoyed me SOOOOO much! In Windows 7, I could open the Start menu and use the right-click button to drag programs from the Start Menu to the quick launch bar.

Because the Windows 10 Start Menu is actually run by a database, the app links actually aren’t shortcuts. The database pulls the shortcuts from a different folder. So, right-clicking a “shortcut” from the Start Menu does NADA! ZIP!

I went to trusty Cortana. Actually, no I went to file explorer, and searched there for Start Menu. To my relief, the sneaky people at Microsoft had not renamed the Start Menu to something crazy.

For those of you looking for them, here are the paths for your Start Menu
Windows defaults: C:\Users\Default\AppData\Roaming\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs
My installed programs: C:\ProgramData\Microsoft\Windows\Start Menu\Programs

Each time after I installed a program that I wanted to add to my quick launch, I had to go dig it up out of the Start Menu folders, so finally I was fed up and added the Start Menu folders to my “favorites” within File Explorer.

Later on in the day as I was installing new programs, I just let the programs add a shortcut to the desktop, and then toward the end of the day, I just did a right-click and drag to quick launch on those and chose MOVE to Quick Launch.

Leave a Reply

